Scan me!
Event Calendar
Exhibition

Infrastructural Territory: The Spatial Foundation of National Discourse

2018.06.30 - 09.09 closed
ABOUT THE EXHIBITION

Infrastructural Territory: The Spatial Foundation of National Discourse, an architectural group exhibition will be presented from June 30 to September 9 at OCT Art Terminal Shanghai. Co-curated by young critic and architect Tan Zheng and researcher Wang Yijia at the THUPDi, the exhibition invites more than twenty young architects, urban planners, artists and their teams, who have been actively engaged in this field in recent years. The exhibition is presented through installations, photographs, models, videos and other mediums in exploring the symbiosis between infrastructure and landscape, as well as their shared practices and cross-disciplinary overlaps among the sub-branches of architecture, urban planning and landscape design on the subject on “infrastructure”.

People’s understanding of “infrastructure” is often tied to their experiences with the evolution of time. With the advent of the modernization process, infrastructure gradually departed from its initial function of providing exclusive services, and shifted towards a trans-disciplinary and cross-boundary mechanism of integration. Through multi-dimensional integration with the landscape, a new type of artificial typology is formed, that determines the comfort level, circulation and accessibility of public space. Urban planner Richard Weller once stated, “The landscape itself is a vehicle, by which all ecological evolutions take place. It is the future of infrastructure.” Indeed, our conception of landscape should not be limited to the uncultivated “natural environment” – as the integrated landscape infrastructure is becoming a critical component of human territories in modern societies – here, humanity is reinventing landscape, typography and built environment with an intimate and mutually beneficial approach.

David Harvey, a scholar of cultural geography pointed out, “New possibilities introduced by future urbanism are not necessarily inspired by an understanding of forms, but rather from their “processes”, in other words, how do things operate in time and space.” Thus, the significances in examining the exhibition, Infrastructural Territory: The Spatial Foundation of National Discourse are, to conceive the practitioner's ways of approaching symbiotic issues of "infrastructure" and "landscape", and to reflect on the processes of transformation and formation of landscape, topology and built environment through “infrastructure” from global development and anthropological perspectives.

INSTALLATION VIEW
CURATORIAL STATEMENT

"Infrastructure Territory" is an allegorical experiment, representing a new generation of young thinkers' way of interpreting space and technology. Recently, with the rapid urbanization process slowing down, the practice and research methods of architecture are undergoing a paradigm shift. More and more young architects and urban researchers have shifted their attention from large-scale commissions to more diverse ways of practice and communication. Self-media, online class, urban acupuncture, rural construction, pan-design, exhibition and workshops are all ways for young people to intervene in space production.

This exhibition is a "snapshot" of this paradigm shift. The exhibition focuses on "infrastructure", not only because this field has become one of the research hotspots of global architecture, but also because it is the inescapable context of current architectural practice. In the modern context, infrastructure has shrugged off its low-key, silent and cool image, and has become a determinant of fashions and emotions.

The ever-developing infrastructure actively shapes modern life styles, and incorporates traditional streets, squares and markets into its system, transforming them into new public spaces. Transportation space represented by various passages, hubs and compartments has become a place with collective memory, while virtual public space composed of information and cultural infrastructure is also vividly portrayed, and the grim features of infrastructure have begun to soften. Similarly, a large number of infrastructure-related scenes, such as "immigration of the Spring Festival", "Access to Every Village" and "Express Delivery", have created implications that affect mass emotions.

"Infrastructure Territory" aims to discuss the expression of various forms and behaviors of infrastructure in the whole landscape, and looks forward to the role and position of infrastructure in reconstructing large-scale regional space and meso-micro daily space in the future. The exhibition presents the process of infrastructure integration into cultural landscape in various forms, such as devices, images, models and images. The exhibition belongs to two pavilions, A and B. From the perspective of spatial representation and intervention, The Pavilion A reveals the essence and contradiction of physical infrastructure (transportation facilities, OEMs, streets, water systems, etc.) in the form of fables, diagrams and participatory games, and explores opportunities for intervention. The Pavilion B analyzes the appearance of softer institutional infrastructure (customs and rituals) in everyday spaces in terms of anthropology and cultural studies.

The participants’ concerns can be roughly divided into several aspects, such as contest versus collusion of infrastructural spaces, representation versus projection, production versus intervention, in order to reflect on the technological, institutional and cultural factors in the spatial evolution in different ways. In this sense it provides the public with legible solutions, accessible and perceptible ways as the entry point for thinking about infrastructure. At the same time, how to understand the deep meaning of infrastructural evolution from the perspective of “territory” has also become the core interest of this exhibition.

ABOUT THE CURATORS

Tan Zheng

An architectural critic and urban designer, Tan earned his Ph.D from the Department of Architecture at UCLA and has been an assistant professor in architecture at Tongji University since 2014. Tan has been involved in the research and practice of urban architecture and urbanism for many years. He broadly published on architecture and urbanism in a variety of journals and magazines. In collaboration with Prof. Yung Ho Chang, Tan launched a research initiative under the theme of “Infra-Architecture” in 2015. He participated in the 2017 Seoul Biennale of Architecture and Urbanism and 2017 SUSAS at Shanghai.

Wang Yijia

A researcher at Beijing Tsinghua Tongheng Urban Planning and Design Institute (THUPDI), Wang graduated from the School of Architecture at the University of Hong Kong. Her research focus is traditional Chinese settlement for a long time and has engaged in the research and practices about conservation of historic buildings and traditional settlements in different areas in China, such as Beijing, Fuzhou, Quanzhou and Yueyang. Wang was invited as the representative of THUPDI to participate in the 5th UABB in 2017.

Related event

Scan me!
活动日历
展览

基建江山:共同体话语的空间根基

2018.06.30 - 09.09 已结束
关于展览

建筑设计群展“基建江山:共同体话语的空间根基”将于6月30日至9月9日在OCAT上海馆展出。本次展览由青年建筑评论家、建筑师谭峥与清华同衡规划设计研究院研究专员王翊加联合策划,邀请到近年涌现及活跃在大众视野中的二十余位青年建筑师、规划师与艺术家及其团队。展览以装置、图像、模型与影像等多种媒介形式探索基础设施与景观空间两者间的共生关系,以及建筑学、城市规划学、景观设计学等众多学科分支在“基础建设”领域中的共享实践与跨学科碰撞。

人们对于“基础设施”的了解往往交织在时代变革的体验中,现代化进程的开始标志了基础设施逐渐脱离了原本的专属服务功能,转变至一种超越领域和边界的复合式机制。通过与景观的多维整合,形成了一种新型的人工地形,从而决定了社会空间的舒适度、流通性与可达性。景观设计师理查德·韦勒(Richard Weller)曾言:“景观本身就是一种载体,所有生态交替都要从它上面穿过,它是基础设施的未来。”诚然,对于景观的理解不应仅局限于未经开垦的“自然环境“,构成一体化的景观基础设施是现代社会人类领地的重要组成部分——在这里,人类正以一种亲密而互惠的方式改造了地景(landscape)、地形(topography)与建成环境(built environment)。

文化地理学者大卫·哈维(David Harvey)曾指出,“未来的城市主义所带来的新的可能性并非源于一种对于形态的理解,而更多地在于对于‘过程’的理解,即事物是如何在时间和空间中运行的。” 因此,审视此次展览——“基建江山:共同体话语的空间根基”的意义在于:理解空间实践者切入“基础设施”与“景观”的共生性问题的方式,并以全球化发展及人类学研究的角度出发反思“基础设施”改变及构成了地景、地形与建成环境的过程。

展览现场
策展人语

“基建江山”是一次寓言式的实验,代表了新一代青年思想者诠释空间与技术的方式。近年来,随着剧烈的城市化进程放缓,建筑学的实践与研究方式正在经历转型,越来越多的青年建筑师与城市研究者将注意力从大型工程上挪开,转向更为多元的实践与传播方式。自媒体、网课、微更新、乡建、泛设计、策展与论坛都是青年一代介入空间生产的方式。
本次展览即是对这一转型的“快照”。展览以“基础设施”为题,不仅因为这一领域已然是全球建筑学的研究热点之一,并且因为它是当下的建筑学实践不可绕过的语境。在现代语境下,基础设施已经跳脱了其低调、隐匿、冷峻的形象,成为大众潮流与情绪的影响因素。

“基建江山”探讨基础设施在整个地景中的种种形式与行为的表达,并展望未来基础设施在重构大尺度的区域空间与中微尺度的日常空间中的作用与地位。展览以装置、图像、模型与影像等各种形式表现基础设施融入文化景观的过程。展览分为A、B两馆,A馆从空间的复现与干预的视角,以寓言、图解与参与式体验的形式揭示物质基础设施(交通设施、代工厂、街道、水系等等)的本质与矛盾,并探索介入的机遇。B馆从人类学与文化研究的视角,解析更“软性”的制度基础设施(习俗与仪式)在日常空间中的样貌。


在此次展览中,参展人所关注的领域大致可分为基础设施空间的竞夺与共谋、复现与投射、生产与干预等几个方面,以期用不同的方式反思空间演变中的技术、制度与文化因素,从而,提供给大众可读解、可介入、可感知的方式作为思考基础设施的切入点。与此同时,如何从疆域的角度去理解基础设施演化的深层意义,也成为本次展览以期延伸的核心思考。

关于策展人

主策展人:谭峥

青年建筑评论家,城市研究者,同济大学助理教授,毕业于加州大学洛杉矶分校(UCLA)建筑系,取得建筑学哲学博士学位。长期研究当代西方城市主义理论并进行城市设计实践,在国内外城市研究期刊上发表数十篇建筑评论与城市研究论文。担任多家专业杂志的客座编辑与组稿人。2015年开始在同济大学与张永和教授共同组织“基础设施建筑学”联合工作营。2017年应邀参加韩国“首尔建筑与城市双年展”以及“上海城市空间艺术季”之“滨江贯通”设计实验展览,同年获香港教育大学“香港研究学会”年度优秀论文奖。

联合策展人:王翊加

清华同衡规划设计研究院研究专员,毕业于香港大学建筑系并获博士学位。长期关注聚落研究及遗产保护。参与北京、福州、泉州、岳阳等地历史建筑,历史街区保护与利用研究, 2017受邀参加第五届深港城市建筑双年展。

相关活动

展览讲座 | 盲人摸象:想象基础设施的方法

2018.07.07 (周六) 已结束

本演讲的内容不仅关于基础设施本身,也想通过对于一个庞大的基础设施系统:三峡工程的研究,提供一种认识与体验基础设施的方法。

查看更多

展览讲座 | 镜头中的纪念碑性:南京长江大桥与红色未来主义

2018.07.08 (周日) 已结束

本讲座将对南京长江大桥这一特殊的基础设施建筑的产生及其在大众媒介中的再现进行全面的解读,从而理解在日益媒体化的社会中的“纪念碑性”。

查看更多

展览讲座 | 弹性城市消亡史

2018.08.05 (周日) 已结束

本讲座以北京为例,认为可被称为“弹性”的特征贯穿了它漫长的城市发展历程,

查看更多

展览讲座 | 隐匿者的具现——城市基础设施的景观之维

2018.09.01 (周六) 已结束

作为集体生存的背景,城市基础设施与城市景观在公共性、系统性和效能性三个向度上相互应和、相互转换。景观因基础设施而生,景观本身亦即基础设施。

查看更多

开幕对谈 | 地景与乡土:集体认知中的基础设施

2018.06.30 (周六) 已结束

展览以“基础设施”为题,不仅因为这一领域已经是当代建筑学的一个研究热点,而且因为它已经是现实中的空间实践不可绕过的语境。

查看更多

开幕对谈 | 全球基础设施与其空间表达

2018.07.01 (周日) 已结束

围绕全球基础设施的情况以及其空间表达内涵进行探讨。

查看更多