Scan me!
Event Calendar
Exhibition

Playback: Selected Works from the Pierre Huber Films & Videos Collection

2015.09.06 - 11.15 closed
ABOUT THE EXHIBITION

OCAT Shanghai is honored to present the exhibition Playback – Selected Works from the Pierre Huber Films & Videos Collection on September 6, 2015. As one of the projects celebrating the 10 years anniversary for the OCAT, the curator Guido Styger looks into the film and video collection of the collector Pierre Huber and his nearly four decades of experiences. “Playback” is one of the most basic modes in the presentation of film and video art. As the title of this exhibition, it is not only inspired by an overall consideration in the selection of these artworks, it also expresses a most respect to the collector behind these works of art. By which, the curator aims to tame and dissolve the thematic limitations in the presentation of these artworks, and allowing the viewers to experience the essential spirit in the act of collecting.

The 11 participating artists come from various countries, among them are: the American artist, recipient of the Golden Lion Award of the Venice Biennale, Elaine Sturtevant; Swiss “national treasure”, contemporary artist Roman Signer; Chinese artist Li Binyuan, Annika Larsson (Sweden), Candice Breitz (South Africa), Sylvie Blocher (France), Maria Marshall (Great Britain), Maria Friberg (Sweden), Mat Collishaw (Great Britain), Sylvie Fleury (Switzerland), and Yoshua Okon (Mexico). Their artworks demonstrate a diversity in ways of representation through video art, film, installation and other artistic modes; moreover, these works had been created in a span of four decades (from Roman Signer’s Luftkissen, No.1-01, 1975, to Li Binyuan’s Spring in The Sewer, 2013), bear witness to the development of video art, as well as showing the multiple historical discourses in Pierre Huber’s film and video collection.   

Based on his research of the collection, the curator has selected 28 works with specific focus, and due to the characteristics of the exhibition space, he has adopted various exhibition strategies in distributing them among three spaces. Hall A adopts the semi-enclosed space and large screen projections format of exhibiting video art; Hall B adopts a more open and interesting concept, by scattering television sets and small projections within the space that allows the viewers to navigate freely in an comfortable environment. Meanwhile, a series of seven-channel installation (Elaine Sturtevant, The Dark Threat of Absence Fragmented & Sliced, 2002) has been placed in the museum’s public area for resting and reading, which successfully connects the “blank” space between Hall A and B, where the viewers may “explore” and experience the artworks in a personalized approach.

For many collectors, behind collecting artworks is a balancing act in the power relations among artists, curators and collectors, and the gradual diminishing taste, concept and judgment. Since the inception of video art and film, its unique ways of dissemination and the reproducibility of their medium have always created controversial debates in the field of art collection – both in the West and in China. However, Pierre Huber has maintained the most hands-on approach in his understanding of art over the last forty years, who proactively collects video art, a most disputable art form, in promoting the development of this specific art medium. This exhibition showcases a small portion in the “constellation” of the Pierre Huber collection; for him, art collection is one of the most invaluable achievements in his life – not only from the artworks he has collected, but the friendships he has built with the artists.

Through this exhibition, OCAT Shanghai hopes the viewer would gain insights in the forces driving video art, and the genealogy behind the historical development of video art and film.

OCAT Shanghai wishes to express a special thanks to Sony China Limited for supporting this exhibition.

PIERRE HUBER ABOUT HIS COLLECTION

Playback: Selected Works from the Pierre Huber Films & Videos Collection was not created in function of a style neither of a kind of single thought nor of a particular concept. My only motivation since I started collecting was the sensations felt and the personal reflections before the artists' works. The evolution of my knowledge of art history enabled me to integrate new acquisitions in my own personal solo journey. Each artwork in this collection is part of a travel of the memory: the act of collecting became by force of circumstance a diary – a single artwork placed in a setting that recalls intellectual memory.

In my own memory I do not have any kind of hierarchy. My collection is composed by works of artists I was in one way or another – with very few exceptions – in a personal contact with over the years. They are part of my 40 years journey of passion: ART. This allowed me to build up my own culture and become critical. Real concepts and real criticism have in many aspects disappeared from today’s most collectors and collections. Collecting is a personal and selfish adventure. It’s a philosophy of life like travelling, playing, doing sports, eating, reading, etc. It is also about being curious and progressing. Owning is only a witnessed fetishism in the action of the collector.

In this context, the word “Playback” seems to me appropriate to define the circumstances of this exhibition, because it represents a small fragment of what is cited as a personal journey. Some works of the collection will leave for an “excursion” to OCAT Shanghai and will be shown here in a context that is only limited and temporary. Once back, the videos in the collection turn into a testimony, just like a postcard. So OCAT Shanghai becomes a stage to show part of my “travelogue”. 

The choice of the works is subject to space constraints, censorship, budget and so on. Some works have been selected from a given set for which the curator had a restricted freedom of choice, reducing the philosophical “openness” of the exhibition’s scope. Anyway, I did not want to dictate a theme. In our modern society, in the same day and at the same time we experience shifts from joy to sadness, from failure to triumph: by doing so, we submit to a hierarchy of things and stay permanently behind the mask of what I call “human comedy.” In my collection masks have fallen.

Both “Playback” and “Flashback” are appropriate names for my very own philosophy of a moment that is lasting 40 years. In fact, the artists in it are all part of my Video & Film Collection.

Pierre Huber

ABOUT PIERRE HUBER

Born in Zurich in 1941, Pierre Huber is a well-known gallerist and owner of a prestigious collection of video art, as well as curator of important public and private collections. In 1984 he opened the Pierre Huber Gallery, representing some of the most important artists of the 1960s, 1970s and 1980s. In 1992 he established Art & Public Gallery in Geneva, a platform for the discovery and promotion of young international artists. In 1995 Pierre Huber created the “Art Kommission” for the reorganization of the Art Basel, established Art Unlimited and Art Statement, and opened the Art Fairs to countries like China, India, Korea and Pakistan. In the same year he founded the Swiss Association of Galleries, and became the chairman. In 2003 he was honored with the title, Officer of the Order of Arts and Letters by the Republic of France. In 2007 he founded and directed one of the most important art fairs in Asia, SH Contemporary. In 2014, he supported OCAT Shanghai to organize the 2014 OCAT-Pierre Huber Art Prize Shortlist Exhibition, which encouraged Chinese young artists to further conduct their research in the field of media art.

INSTALLATION VIEW

Scan me!
活动日历
展览

回放——皮埃尔·于贝尔电影与录像收藏展

2015.09.06 - 11.15 已结束
关于展览

OCAT上海馆将于9月6日起荣幸呈现展览“回放——皮埃尔·于贝尔电影与录像收藏”。本展览为OCAT十周年庆典项目之一,由瑞士策展人圭多·斯泰格担当策划,回顾瑞士收藏家皮埃尔·于贝尔先生过去四十年间在影像艺术领域的收藏经历和成果。“回放”,是影像艺术展示过程中最为基础的状态之一。展览以此为标题,不仅出于对作品选择的整体考虑,同时也表达了对作品之后收藏家的敬意。策展人希望通过作品本身,淡化和消解主题对展览的限定,在呈现作品的同时,使观众体会到收藏行为的内在精神。

参展艺术家来自于不同国家,其中包括威尼斯双年展金狮奖获得者美国艺术家伊莱恩·斯特蒂文特,瑞士“国宝级”当代艺术家罗曼·西格纳,中国青年艺术家厉槟源,以及安妮卡·拉尔森(瑞典)、坎迪斯·布莱兹(南非)、西尔维·布洛雪(法国)、玛利亚·马歇尔(英国)、玛利亚·弗里伯格(瑞典)、马特·克里肖(英国)、西尔维·夫拉里(瑞士)、尤舒·阿肯(墨西哥)等11位艺术家。他们的作品以录像、电影、装置等多种形式,展现了影像艺术表现手法的多样化;而作品近四十年的创作时间跨度(从罗曼·西格纳1975年的作品《Luftkissen, n° 1-01》,到厉槟源2013年所作的《臭水沟的春天》),几乎见证了影像艺术的发展,也证明了皮埃尔影像收藏的多层次和历史性。

基于对皮埃尔影像艺术收藏的研究,策展人从大量作品中挑选了28件具有现实趣味性的作品,根据OCAT上海馆展厅空间的特点,采取不同的展示策略,将作品分布于三块空间中。其中,A厅采用了半封闭空间和大屏幕投影等正式、严肃的影像展示方式;B厅则采取了更为开放和有趣的概念,通过零散分布于空间内的家用电视机和小型投影,让观众在舒适的环境中自由安排参观路径。同时,策展人在日常观众休息、阅读的公共区域内放置了一组的七屏录像装置(伊莱恩·斯特蒂文特,《The Dark Threat of Absence Fragmented & Sliced》,2002年),成功连接起A、B展厅之间的“空白”地带,使观众以一种个人化的方式去“发现”和体验作品。

收藏艺术品对于很多藏家而言,其背后是艺术家、策展人、收藏家之间权力关系的平衡,逐渐造成了趣味、观念和判断的缺失。而影像艺术自发生以来,由于其传播的特殊性和媒介的可复制性,在收藏领域一直存在着争议——无论西方或中国,都就此产生了大量的讨论。但皮埃尔·于贝尔先生四十年来一直保持了对于艺术最直观的理解,积极收藏“影像”这类尚存争议的艺术形式,推动了影像艺术的发展。本次展览的作品仅仅是皮埃尔收藏“版图”的极小部分;对他而言,收藏更像是人生旅程中没有贵贱之分的收获——不仅是作品,更是他与艺术家之间的友情。OCAT上海馆希望以此展览,使观众更多地了解影像艺术背后的推动力,梳理影像艺术的发展历史。

本次展览特别鸣谢索尼(中国)有限公司的支持。

皮埃尔·于贝尔的话

“回放——皮埃尔·于贝尔电影与录像收藏展”的发起,并不是为了实现某个单独的想法或者具体的概念。自我收藏艺术品以来,唯一的动力来自于切身感受,以及面对艺术家作品时的个人反思。对于艺术史认知的演变,也促使我在独行的旅途中融入新的作品。收藏的每一件艺术品都是一段回忆之旅,而收藏行为本身也因环境的影响而变成了一本日记--其中任何一件的作品都会唤起一段智性的回忆。

然而我的回忆并没有等级之分,收藏的作品大部分来自于和我有着多年交情的艺术家们--当然也有个别例外。他们是我四十年激情艺术之旅的一部分,让我形成了自己的文化,举足轻重。对于大部分的收藏家和收藏而言,真正的观念和批判已在很多方面消失殆尽。收藏是一种个人、带有私心的冒险,如同旅行、游戏、运动、吃饭、阅读,它是一种生活的哲学,充满了新奇和进步。拥有,仅仅是收藏家行动的证物拜物教。

在此语境下,“回放”一次对于本次展览境遇的定义是合适的,其代表了所谓“个人旅程”的一个小碎片。部分藏品将在OCAT上海馆开始一段“短途旅行”,并在一个局限和临时的语境中呈现。言归正传,影像收藏已经转变成一种如同明信片般的证物,而OCAT上海馆则是我展示这本“旅行日志”的舞台。

作品的选择取决于空间、审查及预算在内的诸多因素。有些作品会被框定在一个既定的标准之内,策展人只能相对自由地进行选择,进而消减了展览在哲学层面上的“开放性”。因此,无论如何我都不希望为展览设定明确的主题。在现代社会中,每时每刻我们都会遭遇转喜为悲,转败为胜的巨大落差;正因如此,我们会屈服于事物的等级制度,永远躲在“人间喜剧”的面具之后。而我的收藏,已将这些面具卸下。

无论“回放”还是“闪回”,都符合我对过去四十年记忆的哲学定义。事实上,这些标题背后的艺术家,才是我影像收藏的一切。

皮埃尔·于贝尔

关于皮埃尔·于贝尔

皮埃尔·于贝尔,国际知名画廊家,影像艺术收藏家,同时也是一系列重要公共及个人收藏的策展人。1941年出生于瑞士苏黎世。1984年,创建了以他命名的“皮埃尔·于贝尔画廊”,并代理了1960至1980年代最为重要的艺术家。1992年,在瑞士日内瓦创立了“Art & Public”画廊,使之成为发现和推广国际年轻艺术家的平台。1995年,为重组后的巴塞尔艺术博览会创建“艺术委员会”,并设立了 “艺术无限”和“艺术宣言”等新单元,同期在中国、印度、韩国、巴基斯坦开办艺术博览会。1995年至1998年,创建了瑞士画廊协会,并担任主席。2003年,获得法国文化艺术骑士勋章。2007年,担任上海当代艺术博览会艺术总监。2014年12月,和OCAT上海馆共同合作,成功组织了“2014 OCAT-皮埃尔·于贝尔奖入围展”,以此鼓励中国青年艺术家在媒体艺术领域中的探索和发展。

展览现场