Scan me!
Event Calendar
Event

Public Program | Video Artworks Exchange Week by Young Generation Artists from China and Korea

2021.12.25 - 12.31 closed

South Korea and China has opened the 2021-22 year of cultural exchange. OCAT Shanghai is going to hold Video Artworks Exchange Week by Young Generation Artists from China and Korea to promote artistic exchanges and understanding between the two countries. Nine artists from China and Korea will discuss and share their new video works around the themes of "Tao Learns From Nature, One Nature is not the Other" and "Objects in Mirror are closer than they Appear". This event is supported by Korean Cultural Center, Shanghai*.

* Korean Cultural Center, Shanghai has been promoting cultural exchanges between China and Korea in Shanghai and south of the Yangtze River since its opening in July 2007. 

 

Organizers

CHO Seon Ryeong, JIANG Jun

Guests

China: GAO Wenqian, GAO Yutao, WANG Kejing, YANG Di, YANG Xiao

Korea: SONG Min Jung, JEONG Yeoreum, Seo Young CHANG, KIM Heecheon

Timetable

12.25 14:00-16:00

Guests (attend online): 

GAO Yutao, WANG Kejing, GAO Wenqian

Host: JIANG Jun

12.26 14:00-16:00

Guests (attend online): 

Seo Young CHANG, KIM Heecheon

Hosts: 

CHO Seon Ryeong (attend online), JIANG Jun

12.28 14:00-16:00

Guests (attend online): 

SONG Min Jung, JEONG Yeoreum

Hosts: 

CHO Seon Ryeong (attend online), JIANG Jun

12.29 14:00-16:00

Guests: YANG Di, YANG Xiao

Host: JIANG Jun

12.30&31 14:00-17:50

Host: WU Yaqiong

Language

Chinese/Korean

Warm Reminder: Sessions are of free entrance with reservation required. Please cooperate with us to complete prevention registration at the entrance and keep wearing masks during the whole session.

ABOUT THE PROGRAM

#CHINA

Tao Learns from Nature, One Nature is not the Other

The title derives its name from Tao Te Ching, which explains, "Humanity follows earth, earth follows heaven, heaven follows Tao, and Tao follows nature." However, "nature" referred to in the text is not the nature as we know it today. Rather, it represents a transformative dynamic, or naturally generating. It reflects a worldview that places Tao, or the Way, at its center. At the end of the 19th century, driven by modernization, the human-centered worldview overrode the traditional Chinese perspective that sees Tao as the world's pivot, establishing an antagonistic relationship between humans as the subject and nature, which receded to a noun. In other words, nature became the object of human conquest and domination.

At the turn of the century, propelled by digital technology, both the subject, human beings, and the object, nature, have dissolved into data. Humans have been outcasted from the center of the world (hence today's popular topic of "dispelling anthropocentrism") and restored to a kind of artificial nature. Yet this nature is not the other nature, but an alternative nature created by digital technology, or the world of data. Driven by capital, under the slogan of "Internet of Everything," the artificial nature of data incorporates everything into its own operation logic and defines "what is natural" in the new era.

Artists today face the transition between worldviews, from anthropocentrism to one that centers around data. But at the same time, we are still living in a variety of imagination of nature, such as the nature of traditional Tao, of gods, of anthropocentrism, and of data; that is, we are at the intersection and competition of multiple nature.

The artists involved in this project have all mapped this change in their works. They move back and forth not only between self, nature and data but also between the nostalgia for the past and the imagination of the future while experiencing the various pains, problems, and ecstasies that emerge in the rupture and hybridization of times.

(JIANG Jun)

< Chinese Artists and Works >

GAO Wenqian

GAO Wenqian was born in Shandong, China in 1988. He lives and works in Beijing and Qingtao, and teaches at Beijing Institute of Fashion Technology. Gao finished his undergraduate study at Printmaking Department of China Academy of Art, and achieved a master degree at École national supérieur des beaux-arts de paris. Time is often used as the point cut in his works, which involves science and technology and the relationship between the virtual and the real world.

GAO Wenqian, The Encoffiner of Data, 2021

The Encoffiner of Data explores the issue of digital heritage that has arrived. I imagined a career as a data encoffiner, using her perspective to examine the data that people have left in the world. Digital heritage carries the memories of the dead, the sorrows and joys... For the clues, we follow the path of the data grave to explore the secrets of a person's memory.

GAO Yutao

GAO Yutao was born in West Hunan, China in 1988. He completed his postgraduate study at Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, where he was awarded as honored student of Katharina Fritsch. He creates photography, installations, videos and works on paper according to his interests. In his works, he explores how to replace the prosaic functionality in daily life with a poetic artistic method. He combined and re-arranged those ordinary things. His works let people re-encounter familiar things and produce a new connection and tension in a completely unexpected way.

GAO Yutao, Dialogue, 2020

The work was partly inspired by an ancient poem written over one thousand years ago. When you read out the first half of a well-known poem to the Chinese-version Siri of iPhone, she is most likely going to read the second half. So, the artist created the work by using this function.

WANG Kejing

WANG Kejing was born in Quzhou, China in 1993. She studied at Massachusetts College of Art and Design and achieved a MFA degree in Photography and Related Media. This screening has been selected in Doclisbon International Film Festival and the Beijing International Short Film Festival.

WANG Kejing, Kayaking, 2020

This short film tries to reboot an individual's search of nature, just like Don Quixote's rebellious journey. It retrogradely explores the motif of mythology that swings between reality and imagination. Any established knowledge about the contrast between the surf and turf can be subverted and restructured by an individual's footage. The secret words are whispered in the unrelated two polarized extremes. The key to this Pandora's box can be merely an unexpected turbulent incident in an individual's life.

YANG Di

YANG Di was born in 1990, Suzhou, China. His works cover video installations, photography, and painting. Based on his research on the change of narrative patterns, Yang Di investigates reverse control and effects of images and narrative methods on humans. His works are often derived from existing films, literature, paintings, and pop culture. Yang's art language manipulates how the audience perceives these existing objects (films etc.). The audience is therefore compelled to review, re-read, and rethink from the present moment.

YANG Di, Safe Word, 2020

Created as a clip of a fictitious sci-fi movie from the 1960s, this film tells a story of racism at the Mars Immigration Office. It is about the oldest son, born and raised in a middle-class family, moving to Mars alone as a first-generation immigrant.

YANG Xiao

Yang Xiao, born in Guilin, Guangxi, China. Graduated from Shanghai University and now lives in Shanghai. His works have been exhibited in several international film festivals and art institution. Out of his interest in different forms of media, he often wears multiple hats in his personal work and has worked in different director's productions. As an assistant director and storyboard artist, he participated in the productions of THE WILD GOOSE LAKE and KAILI BLUES, and also he engaged in film editing in THE FALL and UNCLE AND HOUSE.

YANG Xiao, The Mountains Sing, 2021

"Hawfwen", a traditional gathering that once popular where the Zhuang people sing folk songs. It often takes place around the clan temples or under the old trees. Singers are divided into male and female groups. They improvised their lyrics to sing in correspondence with one another. Traveling along the songs in antiphonal style, the camera has found different singers and gatherings, lingered in the rural areas and urban cities, trying to find the broken echo of "hawfwen". The work is a poetic experiment in fictional ethnography.

#KOREA

Objects in Mirror are Closer than They Appear

The title "Objects in mirror are closer than they appear" is related to a recent noteworthy trend in the Korean video art scene, which is not to use the screen as a representational space constructed by perspective but as a special kind of mirror, like the side mirror of a car. The side mirror doesn't reflect the driver's face, but it's a mirror anyway. The driver doesn't experience it as a transparent window into the world. When we drive, we do not face the world of representation separate from our own body. We move with the mirror. In a way, our eyes and our bodies are the other side of the mirror. We don't look in the mirror, we see through the mirror. We experience the side mirror as a part of our body which is constantly being transformed in changing viewpoints, fragmented, and alternately diffused and converged. The side-mirror-screen is the eyes, the body, and the limbs.

But the screen does not belong to us, to any individual, or even to anything particular. The screen is a space in which anonymous sensation and affect occur, or, rather, the movement of space itself. Having inner field and outer one, depth and surface, the images escape the identity while endlessly changing their coordinates. Of course, this body-screen experience might be related to contemporary audiovisual technologies such as VR and computer game. However, the artists invited to this program ask about a wider and more ambiguous area where images, screens, and bodies intersect, rather than focus on a specific technology or medium.

The phrase "objects in mirror are closer than they appear" printed in the side mirror of most Korean cars is perplexing itself. Don't 'Objects in mirror' sound like 'images in a mirror'? Where do objects exist? In the mirror? Outside the mirror? Is what is in the mirror being or non-being? The artists deal with the confusion and indefinability of being/perception in contemporary media culture.

(CHO Seon Ryeong)

< Korean Artists and Works >

SONG Min Jung

Song Min Jung was born in Busan, Korea in 1985. She got BFA from Department of Contemporary Art, Konkuk University, Korea. Song Min Jung observes the surface of culture that remains in the present - the temporal concept of time - and creates a fictional story using the contradictions that arise in between. She borrows several storytelling techniques such as advertisements, dramas, v-logs, and games to weave the new world and participates in contemporary discussion. Therefore, the world she summons much resembles the present.

SONG Min Jung, Wild Seed, 2020

Wild Seed is a thriller surrounding the case of a person whose body was stolen through data manipulation. Wearing the body of a ghost, an anonymous entity, a minority, the protagonist goes through a proxy experience of a world different from before. Through a moving body, the work observes a world hybrid of materiality and immateriality and examines the contradiction of the city beneath its surface.

JEONG Yeoreum

Born in 1994, Jeong Yeoreum reframes the story about a correlation between space and memory into visual language. Her work is a continuous process of fixated reinvestigation on a narrative, analyzing its mechanism and dismantling the body from parts.

JEONG Yeoreum, The Long Hole, 2021

In The Long Hole, a detective is led by an accidental postcard to investigate an incident at USFK base Camp Long. Camp Long is in ruins with no one coming for twenty years. In the process of gathering, defragmenting, and arranging neglected information, the detective discovers that a strange geographic data value called Camp Long ATM occupies all space and time. However, there are no traces of any ATMs or banks at the scene. The film is a mystery report of a detective trying to understand the legacy of time.

Seo Young CHANG

Born in 1983, Seo Young Chang got BFA from Ewha Womans University, Korea majoring in Sculpture and MA from Berlin University of the Arts, Germany majoring in Art in Context. Chang has been working with video and installation as her main media, focusing on changing presence depending on the state of observation and differently experienced time-space depending on the physical condition. The story of variable sensation of existence, a finite body restricted in time and space, and flexible time-space experienced by such a body is closely related to the temporality of the video and the materiality of the screen that contains it. Each work refers to and mentions another and leads to a single overall experience.

Seo Young CHANG, Exoskeletal, 2021

Exoskeletal visualizes the spatial and temporal end by a chain of metaphors, starting from cancer cells that grow infinitely in a finite body, to Magellan as a figure who has closed the world by circumnavigating the Earth, to crustaceans that continue to grow inside the shell. The spatial end appears as the image of the shell, and the temporal end appears as the image of the bone. Two become one in the structure of the exoskeleton. The narrator of the work appears as the last survivor (and the deceased) who was culled in the process of molting to leap into the next stage when the world came to the end.

KIM Heecheon

Kim Heecheon, born in Seoul, Korea in 1989, graduated from Korea National University of Art majoring in architecture. His complex video works are deeply rooted in his personal experience, opening possibilities for a dual visual discourse that combines domestic feelings, informed by his immediate surroundings, with a complicated global problem.

KIM Heecheon, Deep in the Forking Tanks, 2019

Deep in the Forking Tanks continues in the vein of Kim Heecheon's background in world building; an interest that grew from his early training in architecture before deciding to work in moving image. Following its premiere at Seoul's Art Sonje Center in November 2019, Kim Heecheon's latest work sees him meeting with divers and venturing down deep into the water. He begins by simulating a dive in a sensory deprivation tank; in a pitch-black, lightproof, soundproof environment such as this, a person can lose all sense of their body and mind. As Kim Heecheon enters the tank he begins to confuse the simulation for the real thing. Unwittingly, he is drawn into a state where his consciousness of physical reality is unclear. Once out of the tank (or perhaps he never leaves it) his life becomes its own simulacrum as everyday images are affected with video layering, audio manipulation and temporal blending to efface the boundary between the real and the perceived worlds.

Images coutesy of the artists

ABOUT THE ORGANIZERS

JIANG Jun

Dr. Jiang Jun is an art historian, artist, curator, critic and columnist, Postdoctoral fellow in Architecture, Tongji University based in Shanghai and Hangzhou. He taught Art History and Art Theory since 2015 at China Academy of Arts, Hangzhou and other Art Academies, for example in Shanghai and in Münster. He is member of Institute for Public Art (IPA), China Information & Interaction design committee (IIDC). In 2020, he is the founding member of Experimental and Science Art Committee of Shanghai Artists Association. In 2021 he is commissioned by China Ministry of Culture and Tourism as one of 8 Curators of The 4th China Design Exhibition & Public Art Thematic Exhibition in the Museum of Contemporary Art & Planning Exhibition in Shenzhen.

CHO Seon Ryeong

Working as a researcher and curator, Cho Seon Ryeong is an associate professor at the department of Art, Culture, and Image at Pusan National University, South Korea. Cho received her Ph.D from Hong-Ik university majoring in aesthetics. Her academic research fields include aesthetics, contemporary art and image/media theory based on Lacanian psychoanalysis and post-structuralist philosophy. Cho published two books, Lacan and Art (2011) and Image Apparatus Theory (2018). She also has written numerous essays on contemporary art, especially on video art, performance and curatorial studies. After having worked at Busan Museum of Art, Art Space Pool, and Nam June Paik Art Center, Cho has been working as an independent curator since 2010. Her curatorial interests include productive encounter between the social and artistic fields and curatorial methodology of moving-image based art. Her major curatorial projects include Artificial/Life (2001), Beyond Visuality (2002-3), Exchange Value of Pleasure (2005-6), Every Day is a History (2007), Dream House (2009), Monumental Tour (2010), Catastrophology (2012), and Dancers (2017). Her most recent interest is the relationship between performance and video.

Entry Price

¥0.00

Free entrance with reservation required

Booking

Scan me!
活动日历
活动

公教活动 | 中韩青年艺术家影像艺术交流周

2021.12.25 - 12.31 已结束

2021-2022年是中韩文化交流年,值此之际OCAT上海馆将举办系列公教活动“中韩青年艺术家影像艺术交流周”,以增进两国间的艺术交流和了解。来自中韩两国的9位艺术家将围绕“道法自然非自然”和“镜子里的物体比它们看起来要近”两大主题,展开对话讨论及新作分享交流。本次活动得到驻上海韩国文化院*的支持。

* 驻上海韩国文化院于2007年7月在上海徐家汇开院,多年来致力于在上海和长江以南地区推动中韩两国之间的文化交流。

 

活动策划

姜俊、赵善玲(CHO Seon Ryeong)

活动嘉宾

中国:高文谦、高郁韬、王柯静、杨迪、杨潇

韩国:宋旼贞(SONG Min Jung)、JEONG Yeoreum、张瑞英(Seo Young CHANG)、金喜天(KIM Heecheon)

活动日程

12月25日 14:00-16:00

主持:姜俊

嘉宾(线上出席):高郁韬、王柯静、高文谦

12月26日 14:00-16:00

主持:姜俊、赵善玲(线上出席)

嘉宾(线上出席):张瑞英、金喜天

12月28日 14:00-16:00

主持:姜俊、赵善玲(线上出席)

嘉宾(线上出席):宋旼贞、JEONG Yeoreum

12月29日 14:00-16:00

主持:姜俊

嘉宾:杨迪、杨潇

12月30&31日 14:00-17:50

导赏:吴雅琼

语言

中文/韩语

防疫须知

入馆前观众须出示本人实时绿色“随申码”、行程码,并接受体温测量;活动过程中需全程佩戴口罩;排队时请保持1.5米以上安全距离。

有以下任一情况者谢绝入馆:健康码黄色或红色;14天内有中高风险地区旅居史;体温测量2次以上皆高于37.2摄氏度。

关于活动

#中国

道法自然非自然

“道法自然”取自于《道德经》:“人法地,地法天,天法道,道法自然”。此自然非我们今天所说的“自然”(Nature),而是一种绵延的动态,即“自然而然”。它对应到以道为中心演生的世界观。19世纪末,以人为中心的世界观在现代化的推进下覆盖了以道为中心的中国传统世界观,确立了作为主体的人和名词化的自然(Nature)的对立关系——自然成为了人类征服和主宰的对象。

20世纪末、21世纪初在数字技术的不断推进下,作为主体的人和作为客体的自然都毫无例外地被消解为数据。人被拉下世界的中心(也就是今天流行的“祛人类中心主义”的话题),被还原到一种人工自然之中。此自然非彼自然,它是数字技术创造的第二自然——数据的世界。在“万物互联”的口号下,数据的人工自然将万物纳入自己的运作逻辑中,在资本的推动下规定了新时代的“自然而然”。

今天的艺术家们正好面对着这一新旧世界观转型的过渡,即从人类中心转向数据中心。但是与此同时,我们依然生活在多种对自然的想象之中,传统道的自然、众神的自然、人所主宰的自然、数据的自然……即在多元自然的交汇和竞争之中。

本次项目所邀请的艺术家们都在自己的作品中映射出了这一时代的变迁,他们在自我、自然和数据之间,在对过去的怀旧和对未来的想象之间来回穿梭,经受着时代断裂和杂交所带来的阵痛和狂喜。

(姜俊)

< 艺术家及赏析作品介绍 >

高文谦

1988年出生于山东。2013年本科毕业于中国美术学院版画系,硕士研究生毕业于巴黎美术学院造型艺术多媒体方向,现工作生活于北京、青岛,任教于北京服装学院。他的创作涉及实验动画、交互装置、声音、游戏、人工智能等形式,工作方式像炼金术士一样不断进行试错,建立事物之间的联接,围绕人心与技术,虚拟与现实,及其与其他事物之间建立各种方式的关联,从而产生新的可能性和偶然性。

赏析作品:《数据入殓师》,2021年

《数据入殓师》探讨了已经到来的数字遗产问题,艺术家想象了一个数据入殓师的职业,用她的视角审视人们留存于世的数据。数字遗产承载了亡者生前的回忆,喜怒哀乐……顺着数据留下的线索,我们沿着数据坟墓的小径,探索一个人记忆的深处的秘密。

高郁韬

1988年出生于湖南湘西。2019年获得德国杜塞尔多夫艺术学院研究生学位,并得到教授卡塔琳娜·弗里奇荣誉大师生称号。其作品触及记忆,时间以及日常之物,并根据自己的兴趣去创作摄影,装置,视频以及纸上作品。他试图在创作中去探索如何以一种诗意的艺术方式去代替日常事物中平淡的功能性。他将平凡的东西再次组合、排列。以完全意外的方式让人重新面对日常熟悉的事物,让它们产生一种新的关系与新的情绪。

赏析作品:《对白》,2020年

作品灵感一部分来自于一千年多年前的一首古诗,在iPhone手机软件Siri(苹果智能语音助手)的中文版本中,当你读出一句受众很高且著名的诗句的上半句,她会大概率地读出下半句。于是,艺术家利用了这个功能进行创作。

王柯静

1993年出生于浙江。2018年毕业于麻省艺术与设计学院纯艺术硕士(摄影及相关媒体方向)。其作品《独木舟之旅》曾入围里斯本国际纪录片电影节和北京国际短片电影联展。

赏析作品:《独木舟之旅》,2020年

这部短片试图重启个人对于风景的探索,犹如反时代的堂吉诃德之旅,逆行而上地记录了摇曳于现实和想象之中的神话母题。一切已经被证明的知识,那些关于海洋与陆地的对立,都可能被属于个人的影像推翻并重构,世界的暗语隐藏在彼此并不相关的两极之中。而开启这一切的,很有可能只是一个个人生命中,意外的动荡事件。

杨迪

1990年出生于苏州。2020年研究生毕业于杜塞尔多夫艺术学院,师从马丁-戈斯特纳和多米尼克·冈萨雷斯-福斯特。同年获大师生称号和毕业生奖。杨迪的作品涵盖了影像装置,摄影和绘画。基于对叙事方式变迁的研究,讨论图像和叙事手段对人类的反向控制和影响。他的作品常常从已有的电影,文学,绘画和流行文化中展开,通过自己的艺术语言让观众以新的方式进入这些现有物,迫使观众站在当下去重新回看,重新阅读和重新思考。

赏析作品:《安全词》,2020年

《安全词》是一部虚构的60年代科幻片的片段,发生在火星的移民局。讲述⼀个中产阶级家庭的⻓子,独自来到火星当第二代的火星移民的故事。

杨潇

⽣于广西桂林市。研究生毕业于上海⼤学,现居上海。他的作品曾在世界各地国际节展和艺术机构中展出。出于对不同媒介形式的兴趣,他常在个人作品中身兼多职,也曾在不同导演的作品中担任过不同工作,如以执⾏导演与分镜师的身份参与《南⽅车站的聚会》《路边野餐》,以剪辑指导的身份参与过电影《秋⽥》《合群路》等电影的后期⼯作。

赏析作品:《欢墟》,2021年

“歌墟”是壮族地区的山歌集会,曾经广为盛行。它通常围绕宗祠或竜树进行,其间,男女相约而至,即兴作词,你来我往,对唱万物。传递的山歌开启了一次迁徙。摄影机沿途抵达了不同的歌者与集会,流转于乡土与城镇,寻找着歌墟散逸的踪迹。本片是一项虚构民族志的诗学实验。

#韩国

镜子里的物体比它们看起来要近

标题“镜子里的物体比它们看起来要近”与最近韩国影像艺术中一个值得关注的趋势有关——不把屏幕作为用透视法构建的再现空间,而是作为像汽车侧方后视镜一样的特殊镜子。后视镜不是用来照司机的脸,但它是一面镜子。司机不是把后视镜当作面向世界的透明窗口。开车时,我们所面对的镜中再现世界和我们自己的身体并不是分离的。我们与镜子一起移动。从某种程度上说,我们的眼睛和我们的身体就是镜子的另一面。我们不是看镜子,而是通过镜子看。我们把后视镜视作身体的一部分,通过不断变化的视角感受它的变形,时而破碎或时而扩散又收缩。后视镜屏幕是我们的眼睛、身体和四肢。

但屏幕不属于我们自己,也不属于任何个人,甚至不属于任何特定的东西。屏幕是一个空间,匿名的感觉和影响在这里发生,或者说,是空间本身的运动。图像既有内场又有外场,既有深度又有表面,在不停改变其坐标的同时,摆脱了身份。当然,这种身体屏幕体验可能与当代视听技术有关,比如VR和电脑游戏。然而,这个项目所邀请的艺术家探询的领域更广泛、模糊,图像、屏幕和身体在其中相互交错,而非专注于特定的技术或媒介。

印在汽车后视镜上的这句话,“镜子里的物体比它们看起来要近”,本身就令人困惑。“镜子里的物体”听起来不是很像“镜中的图像”吗?物体存在于哪里?镜里?镜外?镜中的物体是一种存在还是一种不存在?针对当代媒体文化中存在/感知的混乱和不确定性,艺术家做出了回应。

(赵善玲)

< 艺术家及赏析作品介绍 >

宋旼贞(SONG Min Jung)

1985年生于韩国釜山。硕士毕业于韩国建国大学当代艺术系。宋旼贞观察时间的概念,并利用其间产生的矛盾来创造虚构的故事。她借用讲故事的技巧,如广告、电视剧、VLogs和游戏来编织新世界,并参与到当代语境讨论中。因此,她所召唤的世界与当下很相似。

赏析作品:《野生种子》,2020年

外语字幕意为:“这身体一定发生了变化”

《野生种子》围绕着身体因为数据操纵而被盗的主人公展开。主人公作为匿名的存在和弱势群体的一部分,通过一种替身体验,经历着已经面目全非的世界。作品通过移动的身体,观察了一个物质性和非物质性混合的世界,并探讨了城市表面下的矛盾。

JEONG Yeoreum

生于1994年,她将关于空间和记忆之间相关性的故事重构为视觉语言。她的工作是一个持续的过程,对叙事进行重新研究,分析其机制并将身体这一元素从各个部分拆解。

赏析作品:《长长的通道》,2021年

艺术家自述:我亲眼目睹我家所在的小山坡上挖出了一张老照片。作为见证者, 我收集了那张历史残片, 把它挂在别人可以看到的地方。

张瑞英(Seo Young CHANG)

生于1983年。本科毕业于韩国梨花女子大学雕塑专业,2015年获柏林艺术大学文学硕士。一直以录像和装置作为主要创作媒介,关注因为观察状态而变化的存在,以及随着身体状况不同而变化的时间、空间体验。存在的可变感觉、受限于时间和空间的有限身体,以及这种身体所经历的灵活的时间和空间,这些都与视频的时间性和包含视频的屏幕的物理属性密切相关。每件作品都参考、提及另一件作品,最终归于统一的整体体验。

赏析作品:《外骨骼》,2021年

外语字幕意为:它目睹了自己坚硬盔甲里的无限精神,被世界的消化液所溶解

《外骨骼》通过一连串的隐喻,用视觉元素表达空间和时间的终点,从在有限的身体里无限生长的癌细胞,到环绕地球、让世界闭环的麦哲伦,到在外壳内部继续生长的甲壳动物。空间的终点以壳的形象出现,时间的终点以骨的形象出现,而两者在外骨骼的结构中融为一体。 当世界进行到一个终点时,蜕变是跃入下一个阶段的方法,而作品的叙述者在蜕变的过程中被剔除,是最后的幸存者。

金喜天(KIM Heecheon)

1989年出生于韩国首尔。2015年本科毕业于韩国国立艺术大学建筑专业。金喜天的复杂影像作品深深扎根于他的个人经历,为一种双重的视觉话语打开了可能性,这种话语由他周围环境而产生的家庭感受与复杂的全球问题相结合。

赏析作品:《分岔的水箱深处》,2019年

《分岔的水箱深处》延续了金喜天构建世界的背景经验。作品中他与潜水员会面,并大胆潜入水底。他开始在剥夺人感官的水箱中体验模拟潜水——在这种漆黑一片且隔绝声光的环境中,人体会失去所有身心知觉。随着金喜天进入水箱,他开始混淆模拟与真实。不知不觉中,他陷入了一种对物理现实意识不清的状态。一旦离开水箱(或者他可能永远不会离开它),他的生活就变成了自己的拟像,因为日常图像受到了视频分层、音频篡改和时间错位的影响,真实世界和感知世界的界限由此被抹除。

 

作品图致谢艺术家

关于活动策划人

姜俊

姜俊博士是艺术史家、策展人、艺术评论家、专栏作家,同济大学建筑学博士后,生活和工作于上海和杭州。自从2015年开始在中国美术学院,以及其他美术学院,如上海美术学院、明斯特艺术学院教授艺术史和艺术理论。他是国际公共艺术协会(IPA)研究员、中国工业设计协会信息与交互设计专业委员会(IIDC)会员。2020年上海美术家协会实验艺术和科学艺术委员会创始委员。2021年第四届中国设计大展及公共艺术专题展公共艺术部分策展人。

赵善玲(CHO Seon Ryeong)

赵善玲是韩国釜山国立大学艺术、文化和图像系的副教授,从事研究、策展工作。她在弘益大学获得美学博士学位。她的学术研究领域包括美学、当代艺术,以及基于拉康精神分析和后结构主义哲学的图像/媒体理论。她目前出版的两本著作分别是《拉康与艺术》(2011)和《图像装置理论》(2018)。她撰写过许多关于当代艺术的文章,特别关注影像艺术、表演和策展研究。赵善玲曾在釜山艺术博物馆、Art Space Pool和白南准艺术中心供职,并从2010年开始以独立策展人身份工作。她的策展兴趣包括社会和艺术领域之间的有效接触,以及基于移动影像的艺术的策展方法论。她的主要策展项目包括《人工/生命》(2001)、《超越视觉》(2002-3)、《快乐的交换价值》(2005-6)、《每一天都是一段历史》(2007)、《梦之屋》(2009)、《纪念碑旅行》(2010)、《灾难学》(2012)、《舞蹈家们》(2017)。她最近的兴趣是表演和视频之间的关系。